Jayne Norris, director at planning consultancy, Edgars, was voted Property Leader of the Year at the Oxfordshire Property Festival on April 11.

More than 300 guests voted by mobile phone on the night of the event to select Mrs Norris for the top prize in the climax to the day of walks, talks, awards and music.

The black tie evening at Keble College, attracted all the key players from the Oxfordshire property scene.

Mrs Norris told Thames Tap she was flattered by the award and wanted to thank the ‘young and super talented team’ at Edgars along with her co-director Jon Westerman.

She added: I would also like to thank those who have helped me grow the business over the last four years.

The five people shortlisted for the title were:

Angus Horner, director and shareholder at Harwell Campus

Dan Geoghegan, chief executive of Bicester Heritage and Bicester Motion

Dan Lampard, director and head of Thames Valley for planning consultancy, Lichfields

Jayne Norris, director at planning consultancy, Edgars

Richard Venables, director for property consultancy, VSL & Partners

Speaker for the evening was BBC journalist and Oxfordshire resident, Tanya Beckett, who handed prizes to the winners.

Property Leader of the Year was one of nine awards presented at the sold-out black tie event on Thursday, April 11 at Keble College.

A panel of judges selected winners in eight other categories which were all presented on the evening. They were:

Best Housing Development

Winner: Barton Park, Oxford

Highly Commended: Kingsmere, Bicester

Most Innovative & Enterprising Working Environment (cool & funky space)

Winner: Nielsen, Oxford Business Park, developed by Arlington

Highly Commended: Edgars’ Witney office, developed by Edgars

Best Property Advisor/Agent

Winner: Edgars

Highly Commended: VSL & Partners

Best Law Firm

Winner: Blake Morgan

Highly Commended: Penningtons

Best Use of Land

Winner: The Broadway, Didcot (376 Estates)

Highly Commended: Oxford Nanopore (Harwell Campus)

Business Park Manager of the Year

Winner: Donna Bowles, Estate Manager, Howbery Park

Highly Commended: Lisa Himpson, Business Park Manager, Abingdon Business Park

Project of the Year

Winner: Beecroft Building, University of Oxford

Highly Commended: Schrodinger Building, Oxford Science Park

Futures Award (young person under 35)

Winners (joint):

Nancy Apperley, Marketing Manager, Milton Park

Tom Vecchione, Surveyor, Carter Jonas

Highly Commended: Vicky Thompson, Principal Transport Planner, Paul Basham Associates

Moderator and speaker for the evening was BBC journalist Tanya Beckett and guests enjoyed music by The Walnuts.

The event, organised by UK Property Forums, publisher of the Thames Tap, was hosted by its managing director, Matthew Battle.

He said: “It was an amazing evening, celebrating an amazing county. It was a privilege to be involved with so many of the key players in the Oxfordshire property scene and their support was the basis for a very successful day.

“It was fitting that we were able to recognise the best in the county which includes talented individuals, major projects and the excellent firms which operate here.

“By recognising best practice, OxPropFest serves to promote Oxfordshire along with those who have made it so successful. Long may they continue to do so.”

* Image: Jayne Norris (centre) receiving her award from Tanya Beckett (left).